Skip to content

Microsoft Layoffs?

January 22, 2009

Just heard on the radio coming home from work today that Microsoft is laying off 5000 employees.  So, business is down even for a company that to date has never had a layoff?  Hey Bill Gates!  Here’s why your business is down: Excel 2007 – and I’m hoping that those being laid off are the ones responsible for Excel 2007.  What an absolute disaster Excel 2007 is.  I can’t wait until the next iteration of Microsoft Office comes out.  I think I can safely predict that future versions of Office will have the “new style” ribbons as well as the “old style” pull-down menus.  I’m so frustrated with Excel 2007 that I’m digging deep into my file drawers searching for my DOS SuperCalc program.  Only someone who had never before worked with a spreadsheet, or had no experience with charts and graphs, and was probably an art major who flunked out of college could have devised such a convoluted piece of software.  And, oh by the way, thanks Microsoft for all the on-line support you offer.  NOT!!  How embarrassing it must be for a company of Microsoft’s stature to have external third-party training manuals start off by saying, “Most experienced Excel users will find the new version of Excel frustrating at first.”  NO KIDDING! Dang! I just realized that my SuperCalc programs are on a 5.25″ floppy disk and I have a computer that doesn’t have a floppy disk.  I wonder if that 8086 processor computer is still in the attic?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Todd permalink*
    January 24, 2009 5:20 pm

    I think I still have my 5.25″ Multi-Plan disks (pre-Lotus 1-2-3). Maybe those would help. 🙂

  2. Bob permalink
    January 24, 2009 9:12 pm

    I remember Lotus – always thought that there were so many bugs embedded in the program that it was well named.

  3. djhasti permalink
    January 26, 2009 12:30 am

    Well, don’t worry Bob. Soon companies like Microsoft and Google will only offer software via the internet. You won’t be able to “buy” any discs, or store programs on your hard drive…except the ones you own now. Woo-hoo! Right? And they will absolutely guarantee NO invasions of privacy, either! Wow! The new world order will finally have a concrete example of the way things oughtta be! This sounds like the end of strife! Wheee!!

Leave a Reply

