Skip to content

The missing “h”

April 21, 2008

The latest Lexus TV ad says that all of the “h”‘s are missing. There’s a sign on a freeway saying “Welcome to Uta_”. The infamous sign on the side of a hill in Los Angeles says “_ollywood”. The announcer in the TV ad explains that the letter “h” didn’t leave because it felt unappreciated, but rather it had just found a better place to live….on the back of the new Lexus hybrid.

I went to see the Rhythm Anchors perform at the Sage Wine Bar on April 12th. That’s when I found another missing “h”. The Rythm Anchors. Why did Lexus only take one “h”, why not all the “h”s. Maybe Lexus had manufactured all the Hybrids they needed this year. The most important question was whether or not the missing “h” would affect the Anchors rhythm. Well I’m happy to report that the Rhythm Anchors did very well. There was a lively crowd cheering and whistling at the end of songs – and not just because they were trying to get their waitress’s attention. They performed many jazz standards, Latin blues and a Beatles tune. Bob promised me a Beatles tune if I came to see the Anchors instead of Phil Keaggy that night. I think I spent more money at the Sage listening to the Anchors then the cost of a Phil Keaggy ticket. I think I’m going to have to re-evaluate the Top Ten reasons to see the Anchors instead of Phil Keaggy that was posted previously. That being said It was a wonderful night of music deserving a standing ovation – no wait, that would have been the Keaggy concert. It was a wonderful night of music.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Daren permalink*
    April 21, 2008 8:51 am

    You must remember… This is Bhob and Jheff we’re talking about.

  2. jeph permalink*
    April 26, 2008 12:52 pm

    Please don’t blame Bob for the poor spelling. I made the sign and I misspelled, “Rhythm”. I am not a very good speller and the poster board did not have spell check. I won’t do it, but I could give several examples of how I have embarrassed myself by misspelling words. This is just one more. The night we played at The Sage, Bob noticed the mistake as soon as I set the sign up. My nephew was there that night and tried to make me feel better by telling me he thought I was just making “style points”, and I really should have ended Anchors with a “Z”. I also thought about claiming that when we play those jazz standards we swing the “H” out ’em. The sign never made it home that night. It is now in a landfill someplace. Unfortunately there is photographic evidence in the great electronic landfill that is the web. Oh well, what the H. Just don’t blame Bhob…I mean…you know…the other guy in the anchors that can actually play music AND spell!

Leave a Reply

