Skip to content

If I could only play “Jerry’s Breakdown”…

March 26, 2008

Having been to Nashville a couple of times for the annual Chet Atkins Appreciation Society (CAAS) convention, I have come to realize that there are a lot of amazing guitar players in the world. Yes, and I will even admit some amazing mandolin players – like jeph. It seems though that any self respecting guitar player at CAAS not only has to have a deep catalog of Chet Atkin songs but Jerry Reed songs too – especially “Jerry’s Breakdown”. (Ah, if I could only play “Jerry’s Breakdown”, then I would be a guitar player!) That said, check out this version of a Reed classic…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    March 26, 2008 8:18 pm

    Gimme one of those ‘lil electronic tuner thingies and I bet I can come close to tuning this guy’s guitar. Actually, very impressive and fun to see four hands on the fingerboard.

    Say Jeph, I’ve got the music to this song so let me know if you wish to mandolinize the tune.

  2. Todd permalink*
    March 27, 2008 3:39 pm

    I think the Rhythm Anchors should do this tune at their next gig on April 12th at the Sage…

  3. jeph permalink*
    March 29, 2008 3:57 pm

    Great playin’! Bob, if you have the music to this song, I think you better start playing it! You don’t need a ‘lil electronic tuner thingy, you just need an old bandana tied to the peg head. I’ve got one here in my back pocket you can use…hmmm…might first want to run it through the ringer washer a time or two.

  4. Bob permalink
    March 29, 2008 4:51 pm

    Bandana? When did you come upon the 60’s/70’s? Me thinks you’z referring to a “hanky”.

Leave a Reply

