Skip to content

A Vacation

March 19, 2008

Listening to the radio and watching TV news lately has got me down. Maybe it’s that, plus several other life events, combining into some toxic brew that doesn’t go down well. Something is in the air. The ugliness of politics, the brutality of Muslim extremists, the depth of our economic troubles, the Orwellian reality of political correctness…and personal life with the weight of college loans, my kids’ job outlook, octogenarian parents, etc. I could go on, but you get the point.

What I need is a vacation. Not a trip, not a hotel, though that’s nice too. I need regular renewal of my spirit. I have decided it’s an issue of ‘intake’. We humans are designed to run best when we feed our brains with the right mix of nutrients, just as our bodies need balanced nutrients, blah, blah, blah. We all hear that kind of thing, but I have ignored it lately. Oh sure, I attend a weekly Bible study group and do the daily homework (most of the time). But is that all that’s necessary to protect my melon from mental meltdown?

I’m going to take little vacations for positive input. I don’t mean that “finding the divinity within” nonsense… I mean following the Bible’s mental mandate:

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

I’ll be honest. I haven’t spent much effort to pursue that. How many dragons can one slay on an empty stomach… or an overly burdened heart?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Todd permalink*
    March 20, 2008 7:14 pm

    Amen. Excellent post.

Leave a Reply

