Skip to content

“I know nothing!”

March 1, 2008
by

John Banner as Sergeant SchultzJohn Banner magnificently played Sergeant Schultz in the television series, Hogan’s Heroes. The character of Sergeant Schultz was truly an inspiration for the 4 guys who know nothing. He would deliver his oft quoted line, “I know nothing!” with such force and conviction that his superiors, Colonel Klink and General Burkhalter, almost believed him. If we have somehow risen to new heights of knowing nothing, it is only because we stand on the shoulders of giants…..like Sergeant Schultz.                Jeph

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    March 1, 2008 9:42 pm

    Well, well, well – per Wikipedia, one episode of “Hogan’s Heroes” is titled “At Last: Schultz Knows Something”. Perhaps there’s hope for us.

  2. Daren permalink*
    March 11, 2008 9:38 pm

    I became a fan of John Banner – Sgt. Schultz – after the fact. It was one of those shows my dad used to watch, and then I watched many episodes in reruns as an adult. I now think his role was not as easy as it looked. (He knew something!)

    Well, some days I feel like John Banner… Those are the days I get a lot done. And other times I feel like Sgt. Schultz. I try hard but nothing happens. Like last Thursday. That’s when I need Schultz’s secret weapon: Apple Strudel! (Are you following this?)

Leave a Reply

