Skip to content

Remembering Larry Norman

February 28, 2008
by

I remember as a senior in high school a friend of mine, Mike Webster, invited me over to his house one afternoon to hear a record he had just bought. He insisted that I needed to hear it. So after school I went over to Mike’s place and listened to the album “Only Visiting This Planet” by Larry Norman while Mike sat in his chair playing his 6-string classical guitar, singing along with the record. He was right, I did need to hear that record. I had been playing guitar for a couple of years and couldn’t quit figure out how music was going to fit in with my new found faith in God. Larry Norman’s music had a message and a beat (and I could move my feet). He would sing about topics that most people wouldn’t touch in the 70’s. He was a true visionary and inspired quit a few artists over the past 30 years.

Larry Norman passed away last Sunday, February 24th at the age of 60. He was an inspiration to me and will be missed.

“I want the people to know that He saved my soul but I still like to listen to the radio/ They say rock and roll is wrong give you one more chance/ I say I feel so good I gotta get up and dance/ There’s nothing wrong with playing blues licks/ If you gotta reason tell me to my face/ Why should the Devil have all the good music” — Larry Norman, “Why Should The Devil Have All The Good Music,” Only Visiting This Planet, 1972

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    February 29, 2008 6:54 am

    Very nice testament, Todd. I regret that I know very little about him or his music. I guess I came to faith about the same time as J. S. Bach and so my influences are a little different. Perhaps on Saturday we could discuss how the music of people like Larry Norman have influenced not only the music we play but the lives that we live.

  2. Andrew permalink
    May 18, 2009 1:43 am

    A new documentary of Larry’s life has been made .. the trailer can be seen at http://www.fallenangeldoc.com As well as many CCM artists appearing, Larry’s abandoned son Daniel appears .. Daniel is 19 and lives in Melbourne Australia .. Daniel had very little contact or support from his father Larry , Daniel tells his story on youtube

    see http://www.youtube.com/user/jenksaustralia

    Thanks Andrew

Trackbacks

  1. Larry Norman « Martin’s Mercurial Musings

Leave a Reply

